OVERVIEW + STUDY DETAILS

Understand the result. See the detail.

Start with the finding and its limits.
Open the study details to look closer.

Controlled study

SELECT: primary cardiovascular composite outcome

In SELECT, among people with established cardiovascular disease and no diabetes, the cardiovascular composite occurred in 569 of 8,803 semaglutide participants and 701 of 8,801 placebo participants; HR 0.80 (95% CI 0.72–0.90), with mean follow-up of 39.8 months.

In SELECT, adverse events led to permanent discontinuation in 1,461 participants (16.6%) receiving semaglutide and 718 (8.2%) receiving placebo, according to the original abstract.

Evidence design
Randomized comparison
Population
Adults >=45 years with established cardiovascular disease, BMI >=27 kg/m2 and no history of diabetes.
Assessment period
Mean follow-up of 39.8 months; During the trial; exact window for this result not extracted
Reported units
hazard ratio; %

Keep in view

  • Participants had established cardiovascular disease; absolute benefit does not automatically transfer to primary prevention.
  • 39.8 months is mean follow-up, not a fixed duration for everyone.
See study details — SELECT

Study design and methods

Randomized comparison

Multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, event-driven superiority trial, phase 3.

Population

Adults >=45 years with established cardiovascular disease, BMI >=27 kg/m2 and no history of diabetes.

Outcome definition
Time to first cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke
Randomized participants
17604
Analysis population
Full analysis set: all randomized participants, analyzed as randomized.
Follow-up duration
Mean
39.8
Standard deviation
9.4
Unit
months
Treatment exposure duration
Mean
34.2
Standard deviation
13.7
Unit
months

Extracted outcomes

Reported values, analysis populations and uncertainty, preserved from the curated extraction.
Outcome and groupReported valueAssessment periodSample and denominatorsUncertainty
First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke

Semaglutide

Descriptive result; not an effect estimate

6.5 %

reported event percentage

Exact numerator: 569

Unit: %

Mean follow-up of 39.8 months

Reported N: 8803 — full analysis population

  • 8803 — randomized full analysis arm; scope: Semaglutide

Event-proportion CI not verified; the article reports a hazard-ratio CI.

First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke

Placebo

Descriptive result; not an effect estimate

8 %

reported event percentage

Exact numerator: 701

Unit: %

Mean follow-up of 39.8 months

Reported N: 8801 — full analysis population

  • 8801 — randomized full analysis arm; scope: Placebo

Event-proportion CI not verified; the article reports a hazard-ratio CI.

First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke

Semaglutide versus placebo

Effect estimate

0.8 hazard ratio

hazard ratio

Unit: hazard ratio

Mean follow-up of 39.8 months

Reported N: 17604 — combined full analysis population

  • 8803 — randomized full analysis arm; scope: Semaglutide
  • 8801 — randomized full analysis arm; scope: Placebo

95% confidence interval: 0.72 to 0.9

Reported p-value: <0.001 (time to first event comparison)

Permanent discontinuation due to adverse events

Semaglutide

Descriptive result; not an effect estimate

16.6 %

reported event percentage

Exact numerator: 1461

Unit: %

During the trial; exact window for this result not extracted

Reported N: Not reported or not verified — outcome-specific denominator not verified

  • 8803 — randomized arm context only; scope: Semaglutide

CI and outcome-specific safety denominator not extracted; reported percentage preserved.

Permanent discontinuation due to adverse events

Placebo

Descriptive result; not an effect estimate

8.2 %

reported event percentage

Exact numerator: 718

Unit: %

During the trial; exact window for this result not extracted

Reported N: Not reported or not verified — outcome-specific denominator not verified

  • 8801 — randomized arm context only; scope: Placebo

CI and outcome-specific safety denominator not extracted; reported percentage preserved.

First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke — Semaglutide: extraction context
Outcome role
Not specified in the consulted scope
Scale reference
participants_with_primary_event
Extraction location
Original article abstract; registry FAS definition
First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke — Placebo: extraction context
Outcome role
Not specified in the consulted scope
Scale reference
participants_with_primary_event
Extraction location
Original article abstract; registry FAS definition
First cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction or nonfatal stroke — Semaglutide versus placebo: extraction context
Outcome role
Not specified in the consulted scope
Scale reference
time_to_first_event
Extraction location
Original article abstract
  • The analysis population was verified; a formal five-attribute estimand was not extracted.
  • The hazard ratio is not the ratio of rounded crude percentages.
Permanent discontinuation due to adverse events — Semaglutide: extraction context
Outcome role
Descriptive safety outcome
Extraction location
Original article abstract
Permanent discontinuation due to adverse events — Placebo: extraction context
Outcome role
Descriptive safety outcome
Extraction location
Original article abstract

What the curated evidence supports

  • In SELECT, among people with established cardiovascular disease and no diabetes, the cardiovascular composite occurred in 569 of 8,803 semaglutide participants and 701 of 8,801 placebo participants; HR 0.80 (95% CI 0.72–0.90), with mean follow-up of 39.8 months.
  • In SELECT, adverse events led to permanent discontinuation in 1,461 participants (16.6%) receiving semaglutide and 718 (8.2%) receiving placebo, according to the original abstract.

Limitations

  • Participants had established cardiovascular disease; absolute benefit does not automatically transfer to primary prevention.
  • 39.8 months is mean follow-up, not a fixed duration for everyone.

Verification scope

Verified through 2026-11-04 within the consulted scope.

Bibliographic metadata checked
Yes
Original article abstract consulted
Yes
Full-text consultation
Not consulted
Official trial registry consulted
Yes
Statistical analysis plan consulted
No
Verification boundary
Verification is limited to the specific fields and sources consulted; it is not a full systematic appraisal or GRADE rating.

Source record

Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes (2023). The New England journal of medicine.